Well… it’s not perfect.

Brian X. Chen at The NY Times »

When you use it to register for a website or app, iOS 13 will present you with an option to hide your email address that is linked to your Apple ID. If you choose to use it, Apple will create what is essentially a burner email address so that you can sign up for the app or website while hiding your real email address from the third party.

and »

This is a brute-force approach to shutting out robocallers, which makes it imperfect. When I tested this feature, I blocked six spam calls — but also missed several important work-related calls from people who were not yet in my address book.

and »

In the past, when opening a newly downloaded app that wanted access to your location, you had the option of always sharing location data, sharing it only when the app was in use or never sharing location. Now when you open an app that is asking for your location, you can tap “Allow Once.”

If you tap it, you are explicitly giving the app permission to share your location that one time. That eliminates the app’s ability to continue pulling your location data in the background when you are not using it.

and »

When you take photos, the camera records metadata by default, including where the photo was taken. Photo apps use this feature to automatically organize your photo albums by place. But if you share an image containing location metadata on social media or in messages, you could give away sensitive information like where you live or work.

With iOS 13, you can strip metadata from a photo before sharing it.

Read the whole article for more explanation »